Call Today: 716-855-3761

Learn More about LoTempio P.C. Law Group

What Are the 5 Levels of Spinal Cord Injuries?

What Are the 5 Levels of Spinal Cord Injuries?Every spinal cord injury is unique, but the American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) has established just five categories to encompass them all. Each category corresponds to a different level of injury severity.

The five categories of SCI are:


Spinal cord injuries that fall into the A category are the most severe. Also known as “complete SCIs,” these injuries leave victims with no motor or sensory function below the level of injury.


The ASIA B category includes all sensory incomplete spinal cord injuries. People with these injuries have partial sensory function below the injury site and may be able to feel light touches or pin pricks; however, no motor function exists more than three levels below the neurological level of damage on either side of the body.


Also known as motor incomplete, ASIA C injuries are those in which partial motor function is preserved below the site of trauma. These SCIs are still fairly severe because more than half of the critical muscles below the level of injury are unable to move against gravity. That means people with ASIA C injuries are not paralyzed—their joints retain their full range of motion in the absence of gravity—but they have serious physical disabilities.


The ASIA D classification also encompasses SCIs that are motor incomplete; however, these injuries are less severe than ASIA C SCIs because at least half of the critical muscles below the level of injury are graded 3 or higher. On the muscle grade scale, a 3 means the joints retain their full range of motion, even in the presence of gravity.


The least severe spinal cord injuries are categorized as ASIA E. These injuries do not cause any permanent damage to motor or sensory function below the site of trauma.

Can I File a Personal Injury Claim If I Sustained a Spinal Cord Injury?

The answer to this question depends on the specific cause of your injury. If you were hurt due to another person’s negligence or intentional wrongdoing, you may have grounds for a personal injury claim. The at-fault party may be liable for your medical bills (past and future), lost income, loss of earning capacity, pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment in life, and any other reasonable and necessary expenses related to your SCI.

Discuss Your Case with a New York Spinal Cord Injury Attorney

If you or a member of your family sustained a spinal cord injury through the fault of another person, you may be entitled to compensation for the resulting damages. To find out if you have grounds for a claim, contact LoTempio P.C. Law Group.

Our attorneys have more than 200 years of combined experience practicing law. We have helped thousands of clients in personal injury and wrongful death cases. Call 716-855-3761 or use our Online Contact Form to set up a free consultation with a spinal cord injury lawyer in New York.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© All Rights Reserved.